The Vamps’ James McVey thinks Jar Jar Binks is ‘an interesting character’

jamesmcvey

From StarWars.com:

“They’ve toured with the likes of Selena Gomez, Little Mix, and Taylor Swift, but now British boy band the Vamps are about to head on a world tour of their own to support the release of new album, Night & Day. StarWars.com caught up with guitarist James McVey to talk about his love of the saga, meeting Carrie Fisher (as well as Gary!), and getting emotional over Rogue One. […]

StarWars.com: You’ve been put forward to me as the biggest fan in the band — either that or you just got the short straw?

James McVey: No, it’s true! My dad watched the originals in the ’70s, so when I was growing up I watched video tapes of IV, V, and VI. I’ve grown up with it.

StarWars.com: So you must have been pretty young when The Phantom Menace came out?

James McVey: Yeah, I must have been six or seven. I do remember it coming out, but I did the originals first and I think that was the best way to get me into it.

StarWars.com: OK, I’m going to bring up a certain Sir Jar Jar of Binks here. You’re very much a fan aren’t you?

James McVey: Yeah…I just like depth to stories and I find him an interesting character. The whole Gungan city underwater is also really interesting and if it wasn’t for Jar Jar then they never would have gone down there. I think he’s a good link to another part of Star Wars that fans can get involved in.”

 

Leave a Reply

